New Book Releases · Reading for Pleasure · Storytime

New Book Releases – September 2016

This post will keep you up to date with new titles coming out and will be divided into categories of Picture books, Children’s books and Young Adult Books. Please comment and let us know if they were worth waiting for or if there are any other books we should be getting excited about!

Click here for an order form with links to all the books on Amazon.

Picture Books 

The Storm Whale in Winter
Released 22nd September 2016

The Storm Whale in Winter – Written and Illustrated by Benji Davies

A follow-up to the best-selling The Storm Whale, winner of the 2014 inaugural Oscar’s First Book Prize in association with the Evening Standard.

It’s winter time and Noi’s island is covered in a blanket of snow. Even the sea is icing over. Noi is worried about the little whale he saved last summer: Can he survive the harsh conditions? Little does Noi know that it’s the little whale’s turn to save him. A magical and touching story about a lasting friendship. A truly beautiful work packing a real emotional punch. (Synopsis and image from Amazon)
Benji Davies’ books are both visually stunning and have a deeply empathetic writing style making new titles a welcome delight.
Super Happy Magic Forest - Slug Of Doom
Released 1st September 2016

Super Happy Magic Forest: Slug of Doom (Book 2) – Written and Illustrated by Matty Long

Welcome back to the Super Happy Magic Forest, a super happy, super magical place filled with picnics, dancing, and fun. That is until the super slimy SLUG OF DOOM threatens to drink a magical potion that will give him the size and strength to eat the entire forest.
Five heroes ― a fairy, a unicorn, a faun, a gnome, and a talking mushroom ― must go on an epic quest to find the potion before the Slug of Doom can drink it, but their quest won’t be easy. They must first navigate past dragon lairs, outwit cunning ogres, swim across deep rivers and work as a team if they are to succeed.
With so much to laugh at and explore on every single page, lovers of silliness, adventure, and all things magical won’t be able to get enough of Super Happy Magic Forest: Slug of Doom. (Synopsis and image from Amazon)

Although I haven’t read the first book in the series, this just looked like too much fun not to include! I’d be really intrigued to know if it was as enjoyable as the synopsis leads us to believe.

The Darkest Dark
Released 22nd September 2016

The Darkest Dark – Written by Chris Hadfield and Illustrated by The Fan Brothers

Young Chris is an astronaut. A very busy astronaut. Saving the planet from aliens is much more important than taking baths or going to bed. Because at bedtime the worst sort of alien appears – darkness. But when Chris watches the first televised moon landing, he discovers that there is a dark out in Space that is much darker than he’s used to. It’s the darkest dark ever, and he realises that the unknown can be . . . exciting!

The Darkest Dark is the debut picture book by Commander Chris Hadfield, international bestselling author of An Astronaut’s Guide to Life on Earth, with spectacular illustrations by illustration team, The Fan Brothers. Inspired by Chris’s decision to become an astronaut after watching the Apollo 11 moon landing at age nine, The Darkest Dark is an inspiring story about facing your fears and following your dreams. (Synopsis and image from Amazon)

A children’s book about space written by a real life Astronaut is something I couldn’t leave off the list. Chris Hadfield has written a highly successful adult novel about becoming an Astronaut and his time in space and hopefully this skill will transfer into his writing for children.

 

Children’s Books

Danger Really Is Everywhere
Released 29th September 2016

Danger Really is Everywhere: School of Danger (Book 3) – Written by David O’Doherty and Illustrated by Chris Judge

The world’s greatest (and only) DANGEROLOGIST is back to make YOU into a Level 3 DANGEROLOGIST in his new SCHOOL OF DANGER handbook.

Following a mishap involving his DANGER MOBILE (shopping trolley) and the local school dinner lady, Docter Noel Zone joins the teaching staff to help out.

WARNING! BEWARE! CAUTION!

But any POD (Pupil of Dangerology) knows that schools are full of DANGER – from VAMPIRE teachers to HAUNTED BOOKS! And when bikes start to go missing from around school, to Docter Noel, it’s never been clearer that DANGER REALLY IS EVERYWHERE

Diary of a Wimpy Kid meets The Dangerous Book for Boys, DANGER REALLY IS EVERYWHERE is the third brilliantly funny handbook for avoiding danger of all kinds that will have everyone from reluctant readers to bookworms laughing out loud (very safely) from start to finish. (Synopsis and image from Amazon)

Guernsey is lucky enough to be having a visit from David O’Doherty in October as he will be promoting this new book in the series on his book tour. The students from Year 6&7 taking part in his talks will each receive a signed sample of the new book. It may be worth getting your copy early as David seems to be a comedy character that the children won’t forget!

 

The Racehorse Who Wouldn't Gallop
Released 22nd September 2016

The Racehorse Who Wouldn’t Gallop – Written by Clare Balding and Illustrated by Tony Ross

Charlie Bass is a horse-mad ten-year-old who dreams of owning her own pony. So when she accidentally manages to buy a racehorse, Charlie is thrilled.

The horse she buys, Noble Warrior, looks the part: strong, fit and healthy. There’s just one problem – he won’t gallop. In fact, he won’t even leave his stable without his best friend, a naughty palomino pony called Percy.

Charlie is convinced that Noble Warrior has what it takes to be a champion. But can she prove it? Derby Day is fast approaching and only a win can save the family farm from being repossessed.

The stakes couldn’t be higher for the Basses. Can Charlie turn her chaotic family into a top training team? Can Noble Warrior overcome his nerves? Will Percy the pony ever stop farting?

Find out in this classic, funny animal story, perfect for fans of Dick King-Smith and Gerald Durrell. (Synopsis and image from Amazon)

Obviously Clare Balding knows her stuff when it comes to horses so it’s lovely to see that she’s ventured into writing children’s fiction.

 

Henry and the Guardians of the Lost
Released 8th September 2016

Henry and the Guardians of the Lost – Written by Jenny Nimmo

A spell-binding new children’s book from one of Britain’s best-loved authors of fantasy adventure. Perfect for fans of Eva Ibbotson, Inkheart, and the Charlie Bone series.

The yellow letter arrived on a Saturday, otherwise Henry would have been at school. The envelope was such a bright, sunny colour, no one would have believed that it contained a bombshell.

Less than 10 minutes after the arrival of the mysterious letter, Henry is on the run with his Auntie Pearl, possibly never to return home. Henry has a secret. He is twelve, but he hasn’t aged a day since the moment he was thrust a hundred years into the future. Now his secret has put him in danger. His only hope is the protection of the Guardians of the Lost. (Synopsis and image from Amazon)

Aged 9 and up.

SLS recently won a set of the Charlie Bone series by entering a competition (it’s always worth a go!) from publishers Egmont UK. This is the start to a new series and will hopefully become as popular as the Charlie Bone series. 

 

Young Adult

Lydia - The Wild Girl of Pride and Prejudice
Released 1st September 2016

Lydia: The Wild Girl of Pride & Prejudice – Written by Natasha Farrant

A spirited, witty and fresh reimagining of Jane Austen’s Prideand Prejudice! Lydia is the youngest Bennet sister and she’s sick of country life – instead of sewing and reading, she longs for adventure. When a red-coated garrison arrives in Merryton, Lydia’s life turns upside down. As she falls for dashing Wickham, she’s swept into a whirlwind social circle and deposited in a seaside town, Brighton. Sea-bathing, promenades and scandal await – and a pair of intriguing twins. Can Lydia find out what she really wants – and can she get it? (Synopsis and image from Amazon)

Perfect for fans who want to delve back into the world of Pride and Prejudice and discover more of Lydia’s story!

 

Cogheart
Released 1st September 2016

Cogheart – Written by Peter Bunzl

When 13-year-old Lily’s inventor father vanishes after a Zeppelin crash, Lily’s determined to hunt down the truth behind his disappearance, helped by Robert, the local clockmaker’s son, and her wily mechanical fox Malkin. But shadowy figures are closing in and treachery lurks among the smoky spires of London – along with a life-changing secret.

Be swept away by airships and flabbergasted by dastardly plots in this extraordinary and wildly imaginative debut, bursting with invention and adventure. (Synopsis and image from Amazon)

Hopefully an enticing read for Year 7 & 8’s, this is a Steampunk adventure which already has some brilliant reviews on Amazon even though it’s only been out a couple of days.

 

Released 6th September 2016

Empire of Storms (Throne of Glass Book 5)- Written by Sarah J. Maas

The long path to the throne has just begun for Aelin Galathynius. As the kingdoms of Erilea fracture around her, enemies must become allies if Aelin is to keep those she loves from falling to the dark forces poised to claim her world. With war looming on all horizons, the only chance for salvation lies in a desperate quest that may mark the end of everything Aelin holds dear. Will Aelin succeed in keeping her world from splintering, or will it all come crashing down? (Synopsis and image from Amazon)

For ages 14 +

This is the 5th book in an amazing series which I would highly recommend. The series would have to be read in order so you’d have to invest in the whole set but they would be perfect for older teenagers who love fantasy and romantic fiction. The first book is good but it gets better and better with each new installment.

 

If any local schools would like to order any of the books on the list then please don’t hesitate to contact us.

Written by Jodie

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “New Book Releases – September 2016

  1. Hi everyone,
    You can get excited about my new books if you like!

    Lost Magic: The Very Best of Brian Moses (Macmillan, published yesterday)

    Dreamer: Saving Our Wild World, picture book with Bee Willey, (OtterBarry Books)

    Hope all’s well on my favourite island.

    Brian

    Like

    1. Hi Brian,

      We are very well thanks!

      Looking forward to seeing your new book. If you would like to be considered for another list and are planning to publish something else, just let us know a month before it is due to be published and we may include in a list for that month 🙂

      Kind Regards SLSguernsey

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s